LAND O’ THE WEST

I travel to the west –

Of England’s favoured land,

The place that I love best

Is Devon’s glorious strand.

*

I love its coombes and coves,

And rugged tower coast,

Luxurious verdant groves,

Of which that land can boast.

*

Its hills and fruitful plains,

And rivers flowing free,

Which drains and yet sustains

That fertile country.

*

I love the rolling sea,

That laves the silvery shore,

And ever brings to me

Fond memories of yore.

*

Sweet Devon in the West,

My heart is warm for thee,

The lass that I love best

Is waiting there for me.

J. Shaw     27.2.1924

Tags: , ,

About Kalizamar

@kalizamar

One response to “LAND O’ THE WEST”

  1. Kalizamar says :

    A love poem written in 1924 🙂

Leave a Reply

